1. Help Docs
  2. Account Set Up

Set Up Your Users (and Roles/Permissions)

Users are anyone in the office or field that need a login and access to the PeerAssist platform. Users are managed at the Admin level, and are assigned a role with a defined set of permissions.

 

HubSpot Video

It's important to distinguish that Users are different from Employees.  Users will have a login and access to the platform. The employee list, rather, is a list of names for the foreman to select from when filling out tickets or forms. Read about setting up employees here.

Table of Contents

 

To manage company users, navigate to Admin > Users Accounts in the left margin. 

User Roles

Users are assigned a role, and roles have a defined set of permissions giving access throughout PeerAssist platform. We have pre-populated your account with some common industry roles which you can Edit to customize to your liking.  You can also add a + New role and set it up to your preferences. 

 user roles

 

Drill into the role and use the tabs to navigate the permissions for Admin, General, eForms, T&M and Purchasing.  T&M and Purchasing have multiple layers to account for the different features within the module. There is a full description of each of the permissions below.

When you're finished, either Save changes or click <Back to List to exit.

 

User Accounts

Manage your user list within the User Accounts section.  User permissions can be customized beyond the role presets.
  • Add a + New User individually or use the Menu to "download a template" and "upload" a list of users
  • Or, Edit the user's profile to make changes to the users role and permissions

  • When adding/editing a user, the following information is required: 
    • Name
    • Role (this will dictate their permissions for the system*)
    • Email (this is required and will be their username to sign-in and will trigger a registration email)
    • *Use the tabs and checkboxes to customize their permissions beyond the role presets (description of permissions below).
    • Save changes or go <Back to List

    A users email cannot be edited. If they are registered with the incorrect email, that profile will need to be deleted and they will need to be registered again.


     

    Reset A User Password

    Admins have the ability to reset a user's password. Simply locate the User in the list and select New Password. Enter the new password twice and submit, then inform the new user of their new password so they can log in and reset it themselves. Read more about the different ways to reset a password here.


    View Active/Inactive Users

    • Use the toggle on the dashboard to switch between Active Users and All Users
      • "All Users" includes users that have been made Inactive
    • Edit a user profile to change their status.

    password

     

    Export Your Users

    • You can Export your user list in Excel format from the Menu icon in the top right
    • Use the search field and Active/All toggle as desired to customize your export

     


     

    Description of user permissions

    Admin 

    Company: update address, logo, week-ending day & outgoing email configuration

    Users: Maintain user list/user passwords, roles and permissions

    Employees: Maintain employee list

    Customers: Maintain customer list

    Vendors: Maintain vendor list & vendor material/pricing list

    Materials: Add/manage material list & T&M pricing

    Templates: Maintain rate & billing templates

    Workflows: Manage settings for each module including rates/billing, email preferences, new project notification, starting #s, outgoing document verbiage, and material/purchasing contacts

    Forms: Creating forms at the admin level to publish for field use

    Projects: Setting up projects, updating team members, adjusting project settings including rates/billing, daily signatures, authorization request on/off, starting #s and more

    General (high-level management/admin permissions)

    View All Projects:  ability to view projects without being an assigned team member

    View Analytics:  access to T&M data and charts

    Allow Project Pricing Sign-off: when Project pricing sign-off is enabled in Workflows, this permission allows the user to lock in labor rates with the Pricing review complete within Configure Pricing at the project level. 

    eForms

    View: if this is the only selection for the module, the user will have view-only access.  If other permissions are selected, "View" will be automatically checked as viewing is implied (you cannot create/delete/reset without also being able to view).  

    Create: Create a form from the desktop or mobile

    Delete: Delete a form from the desktop

    Reset: Allows user to "Reset to draft" when a form is in Sent for signature or Completed status (on the desktop)

    T&M: Authorizations

    View: if this is the only selection for the module, the user will have view-only access.  If other permissions are selected, "View" will be automatically checked as viewing is implied (you cannot create/approve/reset without also being able to view).  
    Create: Create an Authorization Request on the mobile or desktop
    Approve: Approve an Authorization Request sent from the field (typically the PM or equivalent)
    Delete: Delete an Authorization Request from the desktop

    T&M: Tickets

    View: if this is the only selection for the module, the user will have view-only access.  If other permissions are selected, "View" will be automatically checked as viewing is implied (you cannot create/price/approve/delete without also being able to view).  
    Create: Create a ticket on the mobile or desktop
    Approve: Approve a ticket in Waiting for Approval status (and send the Change Order Request to the GC)
    Price: Has access to the labor, material & billing template to price a ticket on the desktop - AFTER a ticket has been signed in the field and is in the office's court
    Delete: Delete a ticket from the desktop
    Override Mandatory Authorization Setting: If Authorization Requests are required at the project level (or by the GC in our GC Portal), the user can override this requirement and create a ticket without first sending an authorization request.

    Purchasing: Field Material Request

    View: if this is the only selection for the module, the user will have view-only access.  If other permissions are selected, "View" will be automatically checked as viewing is implied (you cannot create/reset/cancel without also being able to view).  
    Create: Create an FMR from the mobile or desktop
    Reset: Allows user to "Reset to draft" on the desktop when an FMR is in Requested status
    Cancel: Cancel an FMR on the desktop

    Purchasing: Material Release

    View: if this is the only selection for the module, the user will have view-only access.  If other permissions are selected, "View" will be automatically checked as viewing is implied (you cannot create/cancel without also being able to view).  
    Create: Create a Material Release on the desktop
    Cancel: Cancel a Material Release on the desktop
     

    Purchasing: PO Processing 

    View: if this is the only selection for the module, the user will have view-only access.  If other permissions are selected, "View" will be automatically checked as viewing is implied (you cannot create/cancel without also being able to view).  
    Create: Create a PO on the desktop
    Cancel: Cancel a PO on the desktop

    Purchasing: Receiving

    View: if this is the only selection for the module, the user will have view-only access.  If other permissions are selected, "View" will be automatically checked as viewing is implied (you cannot create/cancel without also being able to view).  
    Create: Submit a receiver on the mobile or desktop